Best Friends Forever?

Friend… six letters that create the word which is so nice and warm, so full of peace and grace, so charming and cozy…

Well, it’s been a month since I saw you or talked to you the last time… The whole month without a single word or quick chat. You know, for all those years that we’ve been friends it is for the first time and I guess the last one…

I still remember the day when we met: it was nice summer day, tons of green leaves that were playing with the sun strings… I was just doing my first independent steps in life, of course with the backup of my mom, but I was way too busy to look at her, because I was heading to my favorite playground. And suddenly I stopped and couldn’t believe my eyes: I saw a stranger there! There was a little girl sitting on the bench and holding a doll… And since I was the only girl in our apartment building it was strange to see another one there too. Till this day I can not understand why but I came up to her and looked at her face very attentively, she looked at me back and handed me the doll… It was the first day of our friendship and that doll was like the symbol of it…

 Tons of times I heard that we are too different and don’t have anything in common, but I was blind and stubborn to admit it, saying that differences attract to each other! 

But I was wrong. You used to tell me that people don’t change, but this time you are wrong… We changed; both of us just grew up and it is, of course, normal but somewhere along that we lost the interest in each other, that sister-like connection that we used to have and which nobody could explain…

You know what, I’m just tired of holding for something that only I need, I’m exhausted of rooting for this friendship that no one else seem to care about, maybe it is tough but it is the way it is! And nothing of this came from out of blue: I closed my eyes on some things, I let some stuff go and so did you… But not this time! I can’t forgive you a lie, never could… no, not like that, of course I can forgive you a lie, but I will never forget that. That’s just who I am. I’m emotional, stubborn, say things exactly how they are even if that’s unpleasant, and I can’t let go the betrayal; that’s the way I am, and if I will have to change anything of that it won’t be me anymore… I’m sorry…

A friend for me is a person that I can rely on, who will stand by my side no matter what, who I can talk to in any time of the day or night, the one who understands me perfectly, the one who will listen to me and won’t judge. You were that person for me, but not anymore. Very often we are placed at the situations where we have to make choices, it is hard, no doubt about that, but to make the right choice is the hardest decision in life. You, my Friend, I hope you don’t mind me calling you that for the last time, made you choice. Was it right? I’m not the one to judge, but one thing is clear: at one point somewhere at the Universe our live lines crossed, and after that they just went parallel but very close to each other. And now, they are moving away, they are separating from each other…

Two month ago you told me that the doll was missing… One day the friends of you parents came over to  your place. There was a little girl with them… She saw that doll and asked if she can have it? The doll was given away. When you told me that story I didn’t pay attention on it, but I guess it is just the destiny, fate, fortune, call it whatever you want, but it’s kind of symbolic, don’t you think?

Well, it is the time for me to let go… I’m not angry with you or mad at you, I’m just accepting the situation as it is, and making my own conclusions. I wish you to be happy and never regret the choice you made. I used to believe that friendship last forever, but I suppose, not every friendship can survive that “forever”…

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Best Friends Forever?

  1. luckypenguin

    You know, the girl I considered my best friend since kindergarden has disappeared from my life. Most of my classmates-friends did the same. I understood people can not be simply connected by the fact they spent too much time together in the past. There must be something more improtant than similarities and differences. A feeling a person is for you, a feeling that is simply felt and cannot be explained anyhow. And if such a feeling still lives in both of you it is never late to change everything for better. If not, than save those nice memories and put all your emotions into them. With time you will miss those times with a light smile)

  2. Princessofsnow

    Time heals the old wounds, huh?

  3. You know, I haven’t read the post yet, as I stuck in the beginning. About those six letter. I saw them this way: friend -> fri end -> free end 🙂 It’s like friend are doomed to find a free ending in the end.

    Hm. It doesn’t sound like me. Fcuk it.

  4. Princessofsnow

    Yeah, that really doesn’t sound like you at all!!!!! But people change, I think! Thanks for the comments anyway, it is a new point of view at the word frieds!

  5. Yeap 🙂 Frieds 🙂 Fried friends 🙂

  6. theseawave

    I have never seen you writing with such deep emotions… I am very sorry that your friendship has ended. But you know, there are people for a reason in our lives. Luckypenguin is right, keep those nice memories and remember them with a smile, even if this friendship was destined to a fri end) Maybe some day (in ten years or something) you will talk and remember many things laughing together, or maybe not. What is important, that you feel calm and peace, and do not regret anything. Letting go may be the hardest thing in the world. I am proud of you.

  7. theseawave

    did you see there were a tiny smiley face on the top right corner of your site?))

  8. wow, the smile is coooooollllllllll

Leave a comment